Pages

Pages

Saturday, April 19, 2014

How I Met Your Mother Review


How I Met Your Mother Review

So today I'm going to review How I Met Your Mother, the show just wrapped up not to long ago and now its time to review it. So this show is great I absolutely love this show but like every other show it  just doesn't have a satisfying ending season. In fact I want to say that you don't want to watch the last season of this show. But lets talk about this show as a whole.

So lets talk about the characters to start with. You will love these characters!!! They are just the best characters ever!! There are experiences and times where you see yourself as each and every character in this show. These characters are just funny and so relatable you will just love these characters. The actors who play the character just play their characters so well. I loved them sooo much. I feel like the characters are really what draw you in. Now lets talk about the story, the show is about a man telling his kids the story about how he met their mother, the story is just intriguing you are the entire time you are wanting to know how he met the mother and how everything is relevant. I just love the adventures they have and everything they do. Lets also talk about the phrases and quotes and dialogue in this show. You will find yourself repeating so many lines from the show. I just loved it so much and I'm still saying it even though the show is ruined for me. 

Now we need to talk about why this show is just ruined for me and thats the final season!!! Now I'm not going to spoil anything I will put up a review eventually with spoilers of the last season up here soon. Now the last season takes place in a weekends time and we know it will eventually lead up to the main character meeting the mother. Now we really didn't get to much about the mother up until season eight where the end of the season ended with us seeing the mother for the first time and I was hoping to get to get more of how we met the mother. I was just disappointed in that fact. Also they put to much into one season and it was just not believable how much happened. There was also a lot of throw away episodes and what I mean by that is that there were a lot of episodes that didn't further the plot at all and I don't mind those usually but in the last season with the stakes this high and stuff it was just stupid!! So i didn't like that either. This last season was also a terrible ending to the show it just threw everything away for an easy ending in my opinion that was supposed to be a surprise kind of but it was just horrible.

So as for ratting I'm going to have to rate the show before the last season and that ratting would be a 10/10. Now if we add on that last season I would have to say a 5/10! The show had a terrible ending  and it just felt like there were a lot of things that were just spoiled and ruined because of the endingof the   show. 

So what did you think? Did you agree?

Let me know and thanks for reading!!!

The This and That Guy :)

Friday, April 18, 2014

Captain America The Winter Soldier Review



Captain America The Winter Soldier

Hello everyone and welcome back to the This and That blog I've sorry I've been gone for so long I've had some computer issues and I'm happy to say that this has been fixed and now i will be back. To start out this comeback i decided to review the new marvel film Captain America The Winter Soldier. So this movie picks up where The Avengers ended for Captain America and now we see that Steve Rogers AKA Captain America is working for S.H.E.I.l.D and hes struggling with living in the modern world and this time he has to deal with The Winter Soldier. So let me start out by saying that i really didn't like the first Captain America but this one i LOVED!!! This movie is probably my favorite stand alone Marvel film its between this one and Iron Man. 

So lets start with the positives of this film. The story is just great! I loved how they handled the events after The Avengers and the first Captain America film they did just a fantastic job. I also have to say that the action in this movie was just amazing! I thought Cap was kind of a loser before but this movie and all the action and special effects were just so awesome that i just think he is now a badass! There are a few new characters in this movie,  Anthony Mackie plays The Falcon and he is just a badass, Sebastian Stan plays The Winter Soldier and hes just an awesome villain. The acting in this movie is just awesome all around the returning cast is awesome Chris Evans is just a great Captain America, Scarlett Johansson is a great Black Widow and shes  hot!!!! Samuel L Jackson is just an extreme bad ass!!!! This  movie is about two and a half hours and I didn't feel at all like that long of a film it went super fast! 

So a couple things that did bother me the first thing is this one scene that was just out of place and awkward to me it just seemed out of place and i just didn't like it one bit. Another thing that bothered me that isn't really a big deal is the fact that The movie is called The Winter Soldier and i feel that he wasn't in it very much and i just felt that the movie should have been called something else i just didn't feel that they needed to put so much attention to that. The last thing that bugged me so something that bugged me in the rest of the Phase 2 movies its the fact that we don't get a reason for why others cant come and help out we get references about the characters but we don't get a reason why. I hate that we can get some stupid reference but we cant get a line about where they are at. 

So i have decided to change some things about my blog the first thing is I'm not going to have a portion where i talk about what others think. If we want that back we will put it back but unless someone tells me to change it its going to stay. I also feel like i want to talk about movies more its what i want to do with my life and its what i want to talk about if there are events in the world i will talk about it but other wise we will stick with movies. But anyway as for a ratting of Captain America  The Winter Soldier I'm going to give it a 8/10

So what did you think? Did you agree?

Let me know and thanks for reading!

The This and That Guy :)



Sunday, February 16, 2014

RoboCop Review



Robocop

So Robocop is about a cop who has an accident and in order for his life to be saved he's put into a robotic suit and he becomes Robocop. So my first thoughts for this movie is it is a great time, is it a Oscar winner heck no, but this movie is still pretty good. So let's start with the acting, the acting in this movie is pretty good, there are some roles that are acted better than others for example we have Gary Oldman, Michael Keaton, and Samuel L. Jackson. The movie isn't as good as the original but it was still a decent movie. The old one Robocop felt like it was mostly a robot and in this one they made him more human and I really liked that. The old movie was also more of a gory action movie while this one is PG13 and it's more about the character and also a little but of a political movie. The movie went through the conflict of should we have robots for cops so in that sense I Liked that as well. The special effects in this movie were also good there are times where you can tell that's it a green screen or anything like that but it's decent enough. There's something that just brought down the points for me a little but and it's this, they decide to go one way for the movie and then just drop that and forget if ever happened and do something else. So I guess it just felt like parts of this movie were just kind of unnecessary I guess. I think part of the reason this is may be due to the two great actors Gary Oldman and Michael Keaton I think maybe they put them in for that reason I guess. The other thing that I have to say for a negative is the fact that I felt that the movie had times where it was slow and it dragged on at times.

So what are the people saying? Now there are people who just don't like this one because they liked the original and I think the original is better but I think that this is a decent remake. There are also people, saying that the movie is slow and boring and I agree there are parts that are slow but I don't think it was that bad. There are also people who hate that there is such a big political message in this movie, and I didn't mind the message I like when I leave a movie I have something to think about. So I didn't mind but I can see why people wouldn't like that . Other than that there isn't really any bad things about its think most are in agreement that it's a fun time.

So as for a ratting I'm going to give Robocop a 6/10


So uh at did I you think? Did you agree?

Let me know wand thanks for reading!!!

The This and That Guy :)

I'm sorry




I'm sorry

So I have to say that I'm sorry for being so late for posts. I am happy to say that I am done with third shifts!!!! I will be able to get rested and be able to give you all more posts!!! Now I have been having some technical difficulties, my laptop that I was using isn't working and I'm working on getting it fixed thank god I'm done with third shifts and will be able to go out during the day. So hopefully that will get fixed this week. Right now I'm typing from my I pad and it's not as nice as I would like it so I will have more posts out this week, but don't expect to much from me seeing how hard it is to type this all out on my I pad. Thanks for hanging in there and I'll have a movie review out tonight!!!


The This and That Guy :)

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Sorry




Sorry

So I'm sorry I haven't been posting, I've been working a lot of third shifts and I'm just beyond exhausted. I have also been having some technical difficulties and I'm going to be working on getting this fixed as soon as I can. Expect some more posts maybe in a week or row or so and then I should be running a bit more smoothly. 

Thanks and sorry :(


The This and That Guy :)


PS hope the picture gives you a laugh at the least.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Should the Super Bowl Halftime Show be Banned



Should the Super Bowl Halftime Show be Banned?


So todays topic for Whatever Wednesday is should the Super Bowl Halftime Show be banned because of some inappropriate things that have happened in the past at the Halftime Show. Most known is the halftime show when Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake performed and Janet's breast was reveled. Now there has also been some controversy in  the past years, like last year when BeyoncĂ© performed there was some complaint about her outfit being to reveling. There was talk that the whole thing should just be banned period and I have to say that would be dumb. Now these performers aren't being paid but they are preforming not only at the super bowl but they are performing to millions of people in the world the Super Bowl is something that every year is one of the most watched things in the year every year. So I think that they first should be checking the outfits first of all and just not let them perform in that clothing if they think it is inappropriate.  Also they fine these people like a million dollars or so but you know these people are millionaire's they aren't scared of getting fined because they have money. I feel that they either need to raise the fines or like stick them in prison or something, I know that sounds like its a little harsh but if I were to walk up and down the street naked I would get arrested for indecent exposure, so why aren't they when they are doing something that's twice as worse and doing this on T.V? So I don't feel that it should be taken off, I like watching the show I know not everyone does and not everyone would care if it got cancelled but I personally think that it shouldn't be canceled and they should just figure out ways to get preformers to stop being inappropriate.

So what do you think? Do you agree?

Let me know and thanks for reading!!

The This and That Guy :)

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone Book Review



Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Review

So today I'm going to do something new I'm going to do a review of a book and todays book is a series of which is one of my favorites. The Harry Potters series, these books are written by J.K. Rowling and is about a boy wizard who goes to a wizard school to be educated. So The Sorcerer's Stone is the first book in a series of 7. In this book finds out he's a wizard and he goes to Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry for the first time with his first year Harry learns about how his parents died and finds out how he is the survivor of one of the most famous wizards of all time Lord Voldemort. So I love these books are written so beautifully. I love the characters they are just phenomenal, they feel so real and you cant help but relate to all of them. These are childrens books but you can be an adult and really relate to these charcters. I know plenty of adults who absolutely love these books. Now these books are a fanstasy I guess you could say but they don't go to far into fantasy in my opinion they just dive in enough that you can really enjoy these books. There are dragons and goblins and all that but it still is good enough that your not overwhelmed. These books have been made into a successful film franchise as I'm sure you all know because these books are just so great. This book has everything friendship, and awesome action and adventures, it even has sports, its not exactly sports we know but its still an awesome sport that just pulls you in. I love the idea that there is this whole other world that exists and we can just sink into this world and just lose ourselves into this world. I loved every second of this book its my favorite series of books and I read them every single year becuase I love them so much.

Now there are people who don't like these books because they are to much into the fantasy world and I can see that for some people there are dragons, goblins, trolls and all that. There are names like Dumbledore and other big names and such like that so I can see if people have a hard time reading these books.


So I'm not going to really give a reading for books I will say weather to read it or not to read it and that's about it!

So as for this book its of course going to get a read from me.

Thanks for reading!!!


The This and That Guy :)

Monday, February 3, 2014

Phillip Seymour Hoffman


Phillip Seymour Hoffman


So for Movie News Monday I regret to inform you if you haven't already heard that one the great actors Phillip Seymour Hoffman died this Sunday. Hoffman was found in his apartment in New York City and it is believed that he died of an overdose of drugs. Hoffman was had with substance abuse in the past. Hoffman was an Academy Award Winning Actor for his role in Capote and also was a three time nominee in the movies The Master, Doubt, Charlie Wilson's War. We last saw him in The Hunger Games Catching Fire, it has also been announced that his parts were for the most part finished and there will be no difficulty with filming and Part 1 and 2 of  The Hunger Games Mockingjay will still be out on the estimated days. I was just at a lost of words yesterday reading this news, I'm just sad to hear this news its just terrible. Hoffman was at the age of 46 at the time of his death and how unfortunate it is to hear that he died at such a young age. My condolences go out to his family and close friends and anyone else who was lucky enough to know him. Rest in Piece!!!!!!



Thanks for reading!


The This and That Guy 

The Amazing Spider Man 2 Trailer 2 Review


The Amazing Spider Man 2 Trailer 2


Now I've been excited for this movie and this trailer still makes me excited for this movie. I have a complaint though I don't like how Electro becomes evil he's this nice guy who wants to be like Spider Man and then just becomes all evil, I don't know if its from when he falls in the pit of eels or what but it just seems like he just becomes evil all of a sudden. The special effects look just awesome!! I think/know Gwen is going to die which makes me really sad because I love Emma and just don't want to see her die. Looks like Electro is just going to destroy Time Square which is just awesome, I do like Andrew Garfield as Spider Man he's just awesome. One thing I hated about the first one was that he was TOO cocky I like a cocky superhero but it was going to far in the first one and this one looks like its going to be darker that he's not going to be able to be as cocky which I do like. Jamie Foxx as Electro just looks bad ass and I'm so excited. We really didn't see much of the Goblin or of The Rhino so it seems as if their parts will be smaller which makes me feel a little better about all the villains. So I'm excited about this one and I will probably be seeing this one in theaters!!

Transformers Age of Extinction Trailer Review



Transformers Age of Extinction


So this is our first look at the new Transformers and there is really not much to say. The  trailer has awesome special effects, looks like a lot of Bay explosions, lots of running away from explosions, a lot of screaming and running from everyone, I do like the dino bots they look cool and all but I don't know I hated the last two Transformers and I just think this one is going to suck as well. I don't like Bay he just goes in for money in my opinion he puts some explosions and special effects and he calls it a movie and I hate that. I like Mark Wahlberg I think he's a great actor and maybe he will make this movie awesome and all but I really just don't have any hope for this movie!!